Center for Vision Neuroscience on Block 33

UCSF Center for Vision Neuroscience and Academic Tower on Block 33

The UCSF Center for Vision Neuroscience and Academic Tower on Block 33 will house:

  • A new Center for Vision Neuroscience with ophthamology clinics
  • Teaching, research and administrative space for various units currently distributed at multiple UCSF sites, including Laurel Heights.
  • Located on corner of Third and 16th Streets
  • The building consists of three wings: a 12-story tower, a five-story south wing and a three-story north wing with a rooftop garden
  • 340,000 gross square feet (gsf)
  • Programming Committee began meeting in October 2015 (see membership).
  • Design Build Team: Webcor (general contractor) and Smith Group Architects (design and construction).
  • Project Team includes Project Manager - Patrick McGee, Change Manager - Cristina Morrison and Space & Facilities Analyst - Adrian Miu
  • Project Questions can be directed to [email protected]

Occupant Resources

A web site for future building occupants is being developed and a link will be provided once it is live.

See Center for Vision Neuroscience and Academic Tower FAQ


Regents Approval: January 26, 2017
Design: Fall 2016 - Fall 2017
Construction: Fall 2017 - Summer 2019

Occupancy: Fall 2019

Related Articles


click on map to download pdf

Block 33 Building Programming Committee

The Mission Bay Block 33 Building Programming Committee is charged with providing advice and recommendations on building-wide programming issues to guide development of the building. The programming committee will report to the UCSF Space Development Committee, which oversees development of new UCSF buildings to be constructed in the Mission Bay area.


Michael Bade, Co-Chair, Associate Vice Chancellor and Campus Architect, Capital Programs
Bruce Wintroub, Co-Chair, Vice Dean, School of Medicine
Nisha Acharya, Professor, Ophthalmology
Claire Brindis, Professor and Director, SOM Institute for Health Policy Studies
Atul Butte, Professor and Director, Institute for Computational Health Sciences
Steve Downs, Executive Director, University Development and Alumni Relations
Jacque Duncan, Professor, Ophthalmology
Michael Fortes, Manager, University Relations
Kathy Giacomini, Professor, School of Pharmacy, Drug Development/CERSI
Diane Kay, Senior Planner, Campus Planning
Thomas Lietman, Professor and Director, Ophthalmology, Proctor Foundation
Ron Lipsy, Assistant Director, Medical Center Strategic Development
Bonnie Maler, Associate Dean, SOM Dean's Office
Wendy Max, Professor and Director, School of Nursing, Institute for Health and Aging
Stephen McLeod, Professor and Chair, Ophthalmology
Chuck McCulloch, Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics and Academic Senate Representative 
Patrick McGee, Senior Project Manager, Capital Programs
Maric Munn, Director, Facilities Services
Suzanne Murphy, Director, Executive Vice Chancellor/Provost Office
Ayman Naseri, Professor, Ophthalmology
Michael Nordberg, Associate Dean, School of Pharmacy, Dean's Office
Michelle Pollard, Manager, Department of Medicine
Alejandra Rincon, Chief of Staff, Vice Chancellor of Diversity and Outreach
Bob Rhine, Director, Budget and Resource Management
Don Rudy, Deputy Campus Architect, Capital Programs
Karin Wong, Director, SOM Dean's Office